Organizing Committee

On behalf of the organizing committee of the 5T Conference, I would  like to invite you to Banff for our inaugural ESCAPE knowledge translation session.


This event is essential for those who treat ischemic stroke and strive to deliver the highest quality care for their patients. The ESCAPE trial was made possible by 316 patients, 22 participating sites and dozens of physicians and health care providers who are dedicated to improving the outcomes of stroke patients. They played a huge role in the success of the trial and we wouldn’t be where we are today without them.


In addition to proving the effectiveness  of endovascular treatment, we learned a great deal from ESCAPE about process, teamwork and haste. All these ingredients were critical to our success.


It’s now time to share those learnings with the world and we hope you’ll join us in bringing world-class stroke care to your patients.


See you in Banff!


Dr. Mayank Goyal

Chair, 5T Conference


Dr. Mayank Goyal

Dr. Mayank Goyal is the Director of Research, Department of Diagnostic Imaging. His main research interests are: Imaging in hyperacute stroke, treatment strategies for hyperacute stroke, image post-processing and teleradiology solutions, and minimally invasive MR guided procedures.

His recent works include assessment of carotid stability on CT angiography, use of iPhone to diagnose acute stroke, and increasing efficiency in treatment of hyperacute stroke.

Dr. Michael D. Hill

Dr. Michael Hill is a Professor for the Departments of Clinical Neurosciences, Community Health Sciences, Medicine and Radiology at the University of Calgary. He is also Director of the Stroke Unit for the Calgary Stroke Program, Alberta Health Services. Dr. Hill completed undergraduate training at McGill University in biochemistry and went on to the University of Ottawa medical school. He trained in internal medicine at the University of Ottawa and received his FRCPC (Internal Medicine) in 1997. Subsequently, he completed a neurology residency at the University of Toronto and received his FRCPC (Neurology) in 1999. 

Dr. Hill moved to Calgary to undertake a stroke fellowship and clinical epidemiology training at the University of Calgary and was appointed to faculty in 2001. He then completed his MSc thesis in 2003, and is currently Director of the Stroke Unit at the Foothills Medical Centre in Calgary.

Dr. Andrew M. Demchuk

Dr. Andrew Demchuk is the Director of the Calgary Stroke Program located at the Foothills Medical Centre. He also holds the Heart and Stroke Foundation Chair in Stroke Research. He is a Professor within the Departments of Clinical Neurosciences and Radiology at the University of Calgary. He is Deputy Department Head, Department of Clinical Neurosciences and Deputy Chair of the Canadian Stroke Consortium.

Dr. Demchuk’s primary research interests are in the area of vascular imaging where he is trying to develop new treatments for stroke by optimally selecting patients based on imaging. His favourite pursuit is the training of stroke specialists through the Calgary Stroke Fellowship program. The program has trained over 65 stroke fellows from 14 countries in the past 15 years.

Dr. Bijoy K. Menon

Dr. Bijoy Menon is an Associate Professor (Neurosciences, Radiology and Community Health Sciences) at the University of Calgary. He is a member of the Calgary Stroke Program. His primary research interest is in developing easy to use imaging tools that aid in selecting patients with acute ischemic stroke for revascularization therapies. His research also involves improving processes around hyper-acute stroke treatment, understanding clinical trials methodology and using imaging to understanding leptomeningeal collateral physiology.

Dr. Menon holds a Heart and Stroke Professorship in Stroke Imaging, a CIHR new investigator award, is an Avenue magazine Top 40 under 40 and has received peer reviewed grant funding from the CIHR, HSFC, AIHS, HBI and the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Calgary.